Looking To Enter Prs World...new 2016 Ce?

Koop87

Hi everyone,

A little about myself: been playing guitar for 15+ years. I've amassed a pretty decent collection (10+) of guitars, all of which I love. One thing I've always wanted though was an American made PRS. They're one of my "grail" guitars, if you will. I'm a student, however, so funds have never been in my favor. I'm in my last year of medical school and have done pretty well so I want to treat myself a bit, on a budget. I originally started looking the S2 series of guitars, but after doing a bit more research I saw recommendations to instead search for used CE 24s, as for their price range they're much better beasts. I started doing that and found out that PRS has recently re-released that series. So my question is: how are the new models compared to the old? And what is everyone's advice for a newbie trying to enter the PRS world?

The new CE's are great, plus you get some great pickups as well. Or you could look on the used market and for the same price get a used Custom 22/24. It all depends on what you want

IMO, it boils down to 'feel', especially the neck and scale length. The new CE's come only in 24 fret with pattern thin necks and trem. If you'd prefer a stoptail with 22 frets and a thicker neck carve you 'might' find an older CE with those specs but pretty doubtful. The S2's only come with one neck carve - pattern regular at 1-5/8".

So it really boils down to what 'you' are looking for as far as what is best for you. Hopefully you're close to a PRS dealer where you could try the various models and get something that feels right for you! Then you can decide on new vs. used as fits your budget.

Have fun, Jim

I absolutely love the newer CEs. They feel better than the older ones to me but I am a big fan of the pattern thin neck & 24 fret configuration.

You are not going to go wrong with the new CE 24. Beautiful guitars.