Line boosters in the effects loop.

Jemdee

Hello. I'm new to the PRS world and have recently purchased a PRS H series head. It's such a great sounding amp that I just want to boost the clean and lead channels for any solos. I know the Custom 50 is my answer but out of reach for my pocketbook. Instead, I've purchased a T.C. Electronic Spark mini line booster. It seems to do exactly what I'm looking for when placed in the effects loop. After reading every thread I can get my hands on about this, there are many conflicting opinions (the scariest being it could damage the phase inverter) and I'd prefer an opinion from the horses' mouth so here I am. I'm not an excessively loud player. Both clean and lead volumes are at 1 o'clock, lead master at 12 o'clock and clean master at 1 o'clock. The pre and post knobs on the effects loop are both set around 2 o'clock. Any insight to this would be greatly appreciated and thank you in advance.

I don't know anything about boosting in the effects loop, but I use a Boss LS2 in my loop, in the A-B mode, and set line A to unity gain, line B set for a volume cut. This, line B is my rhythm, line A is the lead "boost," although it's not actually a boost.

However, my gut feeling is that boosting the loop is probably fine, especially if you're not maxing the knobs out on it.

Boosting in the effects loop is harmless. I do it all the time, unless you're really turning it up and then I could see a problem there but if you're not going to loud, I don't see why you should have a problem.

If you actually get a boost, you won't have a problem. I've used boost in the loop on amps where I had the amp so loud that I didn't actually get any more volume when I hit the boost. At that point you are either saturating the PI or the power tubes. Even then I doubt you'll damage it, but you will likely wear them faster. And you wouldn't do it anyway, since you're too saturated for the boost to work.