Let's talk instrument cables....

Zatx

Zat, Zat, he's our man!
So I'm an electric guitar newbie, but have been playing Bass for a couple of years. I understand that the active pick ups on my Ibanez 4-String differ from that of the P-90s on my SE 245 Soapy. How do these difference translate into choosing an instrument cable?

Explain to me how cable length can make a difference in tone/quality please.

Are expensive cables worth the extra money over the cheap generic cables?

What cables do you guys use and how long are they?

Does the cable running from any pedals I have to the amplifier need to be as high of a quality as the one leading from the guitar to the pedals?

It seems that there are very fancy and expensive instrument cables out there, but not necessarily for the cables that lead from pedal to pedal. Doesn't seem like much logic there, but I'm a newb and probably missing something.

Thanks for your help!

I have expensive Mogami cables, but I prerfer the PRS cable I got for free with a Thank You package for one of the guitars I brought.
It had one of the silent Nuetrik ends on it for no pop when you unplug it.

However, most of the time I now use two of my Line 6 G50 wireless systems as I prefer not having cables to trip over or wind up.

How do these difference translate into choosing an instrument cable?

Active pickups put out a signal that's less affected by capacitance than the passive pickups on your P-90 equipped guitar.

Explain to me how cable length can make a difference in tone/quality please.