Hollowbody 2 question

Jmartin

Let me start off by saying that last year I purchased my first PRS guitar. I bought a Custom 24 30th Anniversary in charcoal burst. The 10 top flame with charcoal burst just blew me away, after I Started playing the guitar, the rest was history. It was going home with me. I can't say enough about the quality in workmanship and in tone, it's just amazing. I have quite a few high end guitars, and the PRS has been the only electric solid body that I've played since I bought it.

I say solid body, because I play in a Christian rock band, and I have to be pretty versatile. My "go to" guitar for that band is a Taylor T5z. It's a beautiful first edition guitar, and has a gorgeous koa top. The reason I use that guitar is because it's like the swiss army knife of guitars. Everything from clean acoustic to a driving rock sound is available. But now I'm in love with PRS.

So here is my question. Am I going to be able to get a realistic acoustic sound from a Hollowbody 2? I do not want to use an acoustic simulator.

The other question I have is, Is it worth the money to order one with the artist package? The only thing I want to change from stock is an ebony fret board. Maybe go with hybrid hardware, but that's not important. All of my favorite acoustic guitars have an ebony fret board. I think on my other guitars it lends itself to the acoustic sound that I like. I also like the way it feels. So, what do you think? Is it worth the extra money, and will it make a tonal difference on the Hollowbody?

Not sure about the tone as I've never played one but you may be able to get a wood library model with those specs that maybe a little less scratch than a full blown artist package model.
I only say that as you may be waiting a while for one to be ordered especially for you… unless you don't mind waiting a few months.

I have both hollowbodies an archtop with piezo. They sound great to me!