Best SE mods?

RobG

Hey... so, I read through quite a bit of the big SE Mods thread, but a lot of it went over my head, so I thought I would post separately. I'm new to guitars (only been playing -- if you can call it that -- since Memorial Day). My first electric is my 2014 PRS SE Custom 24 that I bought used from Guitar Center. I lucked out because it's absolutely MINT.

Anyway, it wasn't until a month ago that I bought a new Gretsch 5622T and discovered that my PRS doesn't sound anywhere near as nice. I run the same strings on both (10's on the Gretsch, 9's on the PRS) and both strings are new. Same amp, of course.

I've been in love with the CE 24 since it came out and I saw some great demo videos on YouTube, but it's just not in the budget right now. The Gretsch was 1/3 the price of a CE 24. :)

So... I'm on the verge of getting new pickups for the SE, and maybe a nut too. I saw the PRS store has nuts but I'm not sure if they'll fit my SE, and which one to get for that matter. For pickups, $300+ for the Starlas is more than I want to spend. I've been looking at "Whisky Burners" from Craig Vinehame (http://www.vineham.com/humbucker_pickups.html).

Anything else I should consider in addition to or in place of this stuff?

Thanks for your help.

Rob

You bought used? As first recommendation you should check the pickup heights - maybe at a guitar shop's workshop.
Then you COULD exchange the nut. If you'll buy PRS nuts (USA) those for Wide Thin neck profiles are required. SE came as a rule with Wide Thin.