Anyone Have Nut Wear Issues That Leads To Buzzing?

blujonz

Hey Guys,

I'm a newbie to this forum and a huge PRS fan. I think these are the best made, playing and sounding guitars and I have a lot of guitars of all kinds. I have 3 American made PRS': the Custom 24, 408MT and SC 58. I love all of them and they're my main gig axes, especially the 408 as it's so versatile and is perfect for the cover band work I do.

But... I'm experiencing an issue with nut wear that I'm curious to know if my fellow PRS owners have encountered.

My Custom 24 is currently in the PRS Tech Center getting a new nut and fret re-crown. It's a 2011 model. Last year I noticed that the open D string began buzzing and it got worse. At first it was just the open D string and then the open A. I couldn't adjust the buzz out and suspected nut wear. So I sent it to the PRS TC and sure enough, the PRS tech confirmed the nut slot's too deep, so the guitar's getting a new nut and re-crown to address fret wear; but the buzz itself was caused by nut slot depth.

Now, my 2013 408MT is also developing a slight buzz on the open D string. It's slight right now and not a big deal, but that's how it started on my CU24. The guitar plays perfectly otherwise and it's set to factory spec all around. Sure, I can raise the saddle a bit but as you know, that's a band-aid and given my experience with the CU24; eventually it gets to the point the amount of saddle adjustment necessary to eliminate or reduce the buzz will throw the string radius out of whack and introducing relief to the neck won't be enough to compensate either.

So my question to you all is... have you had similar experiences? None of my Gibsons and Fenders developed nut wear like this even after decades of playing... and yet, I have 2 PRS' that are 5 years old and less, appearing to wear down at the nut in the same spot, way too soon. I can't imagine I'm that much of an animal to cause it, but anything's possible. : )