2007 Singlecut SE pickups

Sandyhill

Hi all, I'm totally new to the world of guitars and PRS. I recently purchased a 2007 Singlecut SE and I also ordered a set of SE 245 pickups from someone who swapped his from a 2017 Tremonti SE. I'm having a tough time finding the specs on my guitar and I'm hoping these will be an "upgrade" for the 10 yr old pickups. Does anyone have spec info? Also, I'm considering putting chrome covers over the pickups, is there a place to look for those? Thank you!

I think mine say g&b pickup company. They’re pretty mellow sounding to me, some people say they’re harsh.

The 2017 SE pickups will be an upgrade to the 2007's. PRS went through a complete rework of the SE pups in 2010. You should see a marked improvement. As for covers, you can buy standard covers for them. Just measure the spacing and order from places like Stewmac.

http://www.stewmac.com/Pickups_and_..._Kits_and_Parts/Humbucking_Pickup_Covers.html

I think they are 52mm (2 & 5/64") spread but you should measure to be sure.

The 2007 Singlecut SE is a great guitar. The upgrade I did for mine was a 3-way drop in and core PRS pups that split. There are lots of pickups on the used market that will work. Enjoy it.

Honestly, I preferred the older SE pups (HFS and vintage Bass) in my 2009 SE versus the 85/15's in my 2017 SE. I found the older SE pups so much warmer. I guess they were going for a more modern sound in the newer SE pups, but they sounded really harsh ("edgey") to me when overdriven.

I'd leave the stock pups in there, or go for something more specific (to your needs) from one of the big pickup makers.

Last edited: