1989 Signature Dilemma, sell or mod ?

murph100

HI guys, I'm a newbie here but long time PRS owner, I figured this might be best place to get some feedback from like minded folk. SO I have my beautiful 1989 CU24 Signature No. 436, made to order back then, still original as ordered, Whale Blue tiger top with gold hardware, wide thin neck, Chainsaw bridge PU, Deep Dish neck PU, with sweet switch. Pretty much mint condition on the front, a lil' bit of buckle rash on the back, but not through the finish. Gold hardware is pitting on the bridge and tuners, and worn off most of the term arm.

It plays like a dream, and acoustically is so slear and resonant,, and sustains forever HOWEVER it always had this trademark infamous PRS 'honk', which now I really can't live with anymore, and the Chainsaw PU aint that versatile either, but KILLER lead sound overdriven. The rotary switch is just plain annoying, and the sweet switch is basically engaged all the time as the treble is waaaay too much without it.

I obviously have this guitar a long time, but if I was honest I would say I'm more attached to my 1986 Charvel Model 6, which is beat to hell but plays and sounds amazing ! I also got an Epiphone Les Paul '60s Tribute Plus last year, just to see where things were at these days at that price range ... it blew me away ! What a blast, I've hardly played anything else since, just pure fun ... for absolute peanuts !! Back in 1989 you would have gotten a plank for that money !!!! This really got me to thinking about my '89 Signature, which I really like, but hardly play anymore.

So I'm faced with either :

Modding it and giving it a facelift with new replacement nickel hardware, putting in new PUs ( maybe Suhr Thornbuckers or Di Marzio Transitions ), replacing the Sweet Switch with a 3 way toggle, and the Rotary with a push/pull tone pot, prob totalling $800 +

OR

Don't mess with it and sell it and just get a regular PRS/Suhr/Whatever that sounds the way I want it to ?