Insurnace?

jjpish68

Do you have your guitars insured and if so through who? In the US please.

So I’m guessing a special rider that would cover the actual value or replacement cost versus a regular policy that would take in account depreciation?

My renters insurance [AAA] would not cover music instruments. I tried just about everywhere. Even Clarion was unwilling to touch my gear collection!

MusicPro Insurance was referred to me on a drum forum, so I gave it a shot. You can apply on their website by downloading their spreadsheet and adding your items to it. I was able to export my MSAccess database into a spreadsheet, removing the info they did not need.

They insured all of my music instruments for what I think is a decent price.

Bought a few new pieces of gear over the weekend, and added them to my policy online for $5.

The only thing I cannot address is claims. I'm new to them, and hopefully will not need to make a claim. That's where I think the rubber truly meets the road. But they were the only ones who would sell me coverage.

So I’m guessing a special rider that would cover the actual value or replacement cost versus a regular policy that would take in account depreciation?

My agent(my wife) tried to explain it to me, but I tuned her out after she said homeowners should cover it. But, yes it would be separate rider, and depending on how many you have and their value, you would either get blanket coverage or scheduled coverage. Scheduled is the better way to go if you know specific values and have proof. I works the same as a jewelry coverage schedule, if that makes any sense.

What Markie said: talk to 11top. He will explain that homeowners wont cover instruments on regular policies, how the riders wont cover you gigging, how you need a real policy from a company that specializes in them, etc.