Which S-Locks to get?

mikge

Hello.

I'm looking into Schaller strap locks for my CE 24 Satin Stealth Charcoal. I've never used strap locks before and it looks like they come in different variants and sizes so I'm not sure which ones to get. All the topics I have found on this are pre-2020 and nobody mentions a size. Does anyone know which size would fit the CE 24? Also, is there anything I should be aware of when installing strap locks on a satin finish guitar vs a glossy one?

Thanks

both versions work. The newer ones have a wider screw. If you install them then you cannot revert to your old strap button and screw.
If you get the older style: you can use your current screw but have to slightly Dremel/sand the head down a tinge for it fit fine.

installation is a breeze. The finish will not matter

I have been a Schaller strap lock user for decades, literally. My advice, buy the Fender strap locks that are the same as the old Schaller strap locks. You can use the stock PRS screws to put the buttons on. I use a pair of slip joint plyers and a rag to hold the part that goes into the strap then I use either a 13mm box end wrench or a 13mm 1/4" drive socket to tighten the nut. I rarely have had the nut come loose on these over the decades I have been using them. If you are worried about it, use a single drop of blue Loctite on it and it will stay.