My belated NGD thread

englishHobbyist

My NGD thread. I waited until the strap arrived before taking any photos, so it's a couple of weeks late.
Skip down to the dashed line if you don't care about me and my history or how I chose the guitar, and you just want to hear about the guitar itself!

Hi, I'm Ben, and I'm new to PRS. Some have you might have seen me appear in the Introduce Yourself thread a couple of weeks ago, but here's my PRS intro story in full.

A little about me, I'm a 35-year-old engineer from the UK. I have a history in music, playing the trumpet as a child and reaching a fairly advanced standard with that. I taught myself guitar aged around 16, and had a lot of fun with it. By about 20 I had got pretty heavily into sport (rowing) and had no time to dedicate to music. The trumpet and guitar (epiphone les paul standard) went back into their cases. Also after uni I lived in a terraced house so music would have been quite antisocial.
Now aged 35, my body can't take sport at the highest level, so instead of sitting and watching my gradual decline, I'm taking music as my main hobby once again. I'm starting again after a 15 year break, so anticipate a bit of a learning journey. I'm confident in analogue and digital electronics, music theory and general musicality, but lacking in anything too guitar-specific.

A couple of months ago, I got my Epiphone out, along with my Pod XT live and Marshall MG series. I intended to upgrade, but wanted to have a play for a while to check I did still enjoy making music.
I did.
So, I upgraded the pedal. Boss GT-1000. Spent a few hours in Andertons testing it and a Helix. A Boss demo guy was actually in store that day, and was really helpful.
Forward maybe 6 weeks and I've decided I want to run the pedal with FRFR speaker instead of the horrible GT amp, and give myself a nice upgrade to the guitar, which is what most of you are probably interested in.

My priorities, in order, when choosing my guitar