Tightening the truss rod makes tension feel higher?

Simon Godden

Hi - I've been playing 30 years but have always left guitar setup to others until recently. I found the action a little high at the 12th fret on my Custom 24. Looking at the neck it had quite a concave bow on it, so I tightened the truss rod (clockwise looking from the headstock). This seemed to flatten the neck out a fair bit, and I have no fret buzz, so all good. The action does feel better.

However, I really noticed that the string tension seemed higher. Does this make sense, i.e. by flattening the neck have I lengthened the distance slightly from nut to bridge and need a higher tension to achieve the same pitch?

Am I talking nonsense here - please set me right, I am a total newbie to setup.

String tension has not changed. But for most or all of the fretboard, when you fret the string, the travel distance is reduced, so you may notice a difference that way.

My 2 cents...this may apply to your post. I hope so...with higher action, I think strings do bend easier, as we can get under them more to push up...(making tension feel a little easier??) Ask SRV!! And with flatter action, they can bend, but it seems tighter to bend them...,I'm personally a fan of low action... but than again, there's this guy, Carlos sumptin, that likes LOW action, and well, he's pretty ok at bending strings???

Thanks for the replies. I should have said, that I also switched from Roto 10s to Ernie Ball 10s. I haven't used the Ernie Balls for years. String gauges are all identical as far as I know, but maybe it contributes to a different feel.