PRS SE standard tremolo/tuning problem..

Ketil

Hello, two weeks ago I bought a very slightly used, virtually new PRS SE standard 24 (my first PRS, so I'm also a PRS forum newbie..), and the first couple of days I had it, I couldn't put it down. It played beautifully, and I was also very impressed with the tremolo, it seemed I could do even "Floyd Rose"-type tricks with it, and it still stayed (almost) perfectly in tune. I also used it for a gig last weekend, but after that, I hadn't played it for a week. When I picked it up again and played it now, the trem seemed to have changed drastically, it doesn't stay in tune anymore, and it also doesn't seem as smooth as it was only a week ago, it seems a bit stiffer in a way. I tried to unscrew the trem arm and put it back, securing it was sitting tight, but that didn't make any difference. If I push down on the tremolo, it goes flat, if I afterwards pull up on it, it goes sharp. Or it seems that it has two different "zero positions", one when I go down, and another one if I go up, and there's like a 1/4 note between the two.. What has happened to my trem, it wasn't like this only a week ago..?

Hi and welcome to the forum. Have you changed string gauge? It sounds to me the problem could be that the strings are sticking in the nut slots. Maybe you can use some graphite/pencil lead or nut sauce to lubricate this area. I have used olive oil for years, applied with a tooth pick. Hope this helps.

Thank you :) No, I haven't changed strings, I haven't done anything with it since playing it at the mentioned gig a week ago. I will try to lube the nut when I can, but to me, it seems the problem is in the trem itself; it actually feels different (less smooth, stiffer?) than before, very strange..

Are you certain that the previous owner didn't try to adjust something and do it incorrectly?