PRS SE Hollowbody II Piezo bridge issues

Paul Lewis

Hi everyone,

newbie here so be kind!!

recently purchased a new Peacock Blue burst SE Hollowbody II Piezo.

love the look and feel of the guitar but noticed that the intonation had drifted and some fret buzz on the wound strings - due to covid etc was ordered on line from a major UK on line store.

thought well it probably needs a quick set up and adjustment so took it to my guitar tech this morning.

He has diagnosed the bridge as the issue, the bridge pins seem to have pulled forwards so are not vertical, and the adjustable screws are too 'loose' in the pins allowing for at least 1mm of lateral movement each way..hence the intonation and fret buzz issues as the action has lowered and the bridge moving forwards has altered the intonation.

just wondered if anyone else has noticed anything similar?

cheers

Paul

Paul,

It sounds like there was some issue occurring from the online retailer...either they did not perform a QC inspection prior to shipment, or something during/after shipment that would have caused the problem.

If perhaps you've not tried making any changes to the HBII Piezo prior to the bridge issue, it is on the online retailer to make good with the repair. Usually, if the retailer is reputable, they will work with you and fund the repair cost that they agree constitutes acceptable price for the repair.

If the repair cost is more than an acceptable agreed price, I'd send the guitar back to the retailer after you've contacted them and described the problem. Bridge studs pulling forward sounds like a larger problem than a simple repair will do.

If it were me, I'd contact the online retailer and let them handle the problem. (Online retailer should foot the cost of return shipping since the issue occurred during shipment or prior to that.)

Paul,