Perhaps I Don’t Understand This Concept…

18buy3.jpg

Downsizing. I keep doing this, and I either end up with the same amount of stuff or more when I’m done. It doesn’t seem that should be the outcome.

Being as my gigging opportunities have dropped off significantly in the last few years, I decided to sell my bigger Ax Fx III - RJM rig, and did so this week. Not exactly starving myself, as I have a nice FM9 Turbo rig too, but it did involve a reduction in gear. Positive move towards a downsize. Encouraged, I made a list of other guitars and amps I could do without and still be fine going back to full-time gigging if it comes. Wow, I’m on the way.

Then I found a 1976 Boogie Mk I at a good price. I started playing in 76. This very blonde “Super 60” was my dream amp from Day 1. I’ve owned a bunch of Boogies over the years, but never that “first love” version. I’ve even got an original Altec 417-8H speaker in house; surely a sign this was meant to be. So, yeah, of course I bought it! So, one rig sold… and one rig bought. And I can use a speaker from the closet. And the footswitch is much smaller. I think that’s still downsizing.

Perhaps the concept eludes me still. Anyone find themselves in the gear version of “Groundhog Day?”

I didn't read your post. I just wanted to thank you for the Bodia meme. :p

Golf...

Let me get this straight.

There's coffee mug sized hole in the ground 300 yards or so over that way.
There's this little ball sitting on a little stand at my feet.
I have a crooked little weighted paddle at the end of a longish handle
with which I'm supposed to hit the ball into the hole in 3 or 4 tries.
18 times.
in 1 day.

Naah.

I think I'll go chew on some aluminum foil while I shave my head with a cheese grater instead.

I've been actively downsizing over the last 2-3 years.