Perhaps I Don’t Understand This Concept…

RickP

Established 1960, Still Not Dead
18buy3.jpg

Downsizing. I keep doing this, and I either end up with the same amount of stuff or more when I’m done. It doesn’t seem that should be the outcome.

Being as my gigging opportunities have dropped off significantly in the last few years, I decided to sell my bigger Ax Fx III - RJM rig, and did so this week. Not exactly starving myself, as I have a nice FM9 Turbo rig too, but it did involve a reduction in gear. Positive move towards a downsize. Encouraged, I made a list of other guitars and amps I could do without and still be fine going back to full-time gigging if it comes. Wow, I’m on the way.

Then I found a 1976 Boogie Mk I at a good price. I started playing in 76. This very blonde “Super 60” was my dream amp from Day 1. I’ve owned a bunch of Boogies over the years, but never that “first love” version. I’ve even got an original Altec 417-8H speaker in house; surely a sign this was meant to be. So, yeah, of course I bought it! So, one rig sold… and one rig bought. And I can use a speaker from the closet. And the footswitch is much smaller. I think that’s still downsizing.

Perhaps the concept eludes me still. Anyone find themselves in the gear version of “Groundhog Day?”

Downsizing is on my 'to do' list... what has become very clear is that I have too many pedals in boxes that I am very unlikely to use again and a few guitars that never get played. Unless something has sentimental value it's going (if I ever get round to advertising things lol).

I recently sold all of the guitars I no longer play (except my ES-335) and replaced them with guitars like the Stripped 58 that I will play.

I now own half as many guitars but the one's i own I love.

To me, that's downsizing: selling three or four to get one really special guitar.