Peavey XXX Gain Noise

drdoom8793

THAT guy at Chick-fil-A
Hey guys! :hello:

So I'm having some issues with extra noise on my Peavey XXX head. When ever I'm running the crunch channel (lighter, more old school british gain), it's clear as day, no background noise. However, when I switch to the Ultra channel (heavier, more modern gain, in the vein of a Mesa Rec), I get a lot of noise when I'm not playing. I'm playing through my SE Singlecut so it's not like I'm using single coils or coil splits. It's obviously not the newest amp and I've never changed the tubes on it since I got it so I suppose it could be that, however, the tubes all seems to be functioning correctly, so I'm not sure. I've never tried using a noise gate on it, but I use very few pedals before the amp and they don't give me any problems on my smaller practice amp so I don't believe that would be the source. I'm no amp expert so I was hoping you guys might have some suggestions.

Most likely a tube. You can "test" the tubes by having the amp on & gently tapping on the tubes one by one with a pencil eraser. If you get any crazy hiss, swoosh or ringing that'll let you know which tube is bad. I've played that amp,not extensively, a long time ago and I don't think you should need a gate on it. I don't recall it being that noisy. I'd start with the tubes and see what you find.