new neck humbucker for PRS S2 Custom 24 - Clean, Blues, Jazz

oobboo

Hello PRS users,

I am new to PRS. Last year I bought a used PRS S2 Custom 24. I liked the asian S2 Vintage Bass Neck PU a lot, so I bought the original USA VB used and installed it. Unfortunately I noticed too late that the screw holes of the baseplate were much deeper in comparison. So I can't screw the pickup that deep until it reaches the wood of the body. It sounds really good though, and I think it sits deep enough, flush with the mounting ring. After a few months, however, I realize that I would rather have a different sound.

I don't like the exaggerated bass from the low strings of a normal humbucker. The VB doesn't have this, but it still sounds a bit too "hot" to me.
So I'm looking for a pickup with moderate to low output that has little bass and at the same time doesn't have too many highs, but still has chime. I play mostly clean and I am mainly a strat player. I just like the playability of my PRS and it is the first humbucker guitar I am relatively happy with.

Dimarzio seems to have some pickups on offer: The EJ Custom or the Humbucker From Hell offer what I'm looking for, at least in theory. Also the Lollar Imperial seems to be THE vintage humbucker, but I am curious if I really search for the PAF sound.
However, PRS guitars are not Les Pauls and 24 frets sound different than 22 frets anyway. So I wanted to ask you about your experiences, tips and opinions.

Many Thanks :)

I can't speak to the neck position, but I put an EJ Custom into the bridge position of an S2 CU24. I really liked it; I think the maple/mahogany construction of the guitar helped tame the EJ so it was not ice pick-y.

I have put BakeKnuckle Stormy Mondays in a SE CU24 and I think they are awesome. I also just put some Manlius 59LT PAFS in a hollowbody and they sound great too.