Mic Preamps: Hardware 1073 v UAD Modeled 1073

László

Too Many Notes
I’ve been using a Universal Audio Apollo for about 5 years. It’s an excellent interface and the mic preamps aren’t bad with the Unisyn emulations that actually tell the hardware what to do in certain respects, but I’ve been vaguely dissatisfied with my sound.

Back in analog world times when I first got into the music business, I had both a 64 input console with good preamps, and outboard mic preamps. I gave all that up ten years ago, because the ad world demands very fast changes, and I felt that going digital was a sensible choice. To some degree it was, but the audio suffers,

Recently, I decided to go back to hardware mic preamps, and one of the ones I bought is a BAE DMP 1073, a very accurate clone of the early Neve 1073 mic preamp that’s perhaps the classic preamp of all time. The BAE even uses the original Carnhill/St. Ives transformers, the same parts wherever available, same circuit, hand built, Class A topology, etc. It’s very highly regarded, even more so than the current Neve 1073 reissue that doesn’t use the same transformers or components.

I am pretty darn happy with this preamp, and decided to record an A/B comparison between the BAE and the UAD emulation. I used a Neumann TLM 103, and my PRS Tonare Grand PS. I didn’t play anything worthy and there are some clams, because I was going for the audio, not the music, so forgive me for that.

I’ve long argued, here and elsewhere, that as good as these software models can be - and the UAD are generally felt to be among the very best - something’s missing in the audio. This is as true for mic preamps as it is for amps.

Also, to those who think you can’t tell the difference between mic preamps, well, just listen to the clip on good monitors or headphones and you should be able to tell which is which if you listen for the things suggested in the next paragraph.