Lightest PRS doublecut with 4 knobs and switch like an LP configuration?

Jason Kerr

Hey guys, I'm looking for the lightest PRS possible, but I'm partial towards LP style configuration control wise. I want a doublecut, Short scale, fat neck, and if it's doable, a wrap tail? Does PRS make this? What average weight can I expect on one? I know this is alot of request, but I'm fairly new to anything PRS. Cheers.

For Core 594s the lightest I have seen are at 7lbs 14oz.

Someone of the older SC245s (core) had a wrap tail. I think the mccarty 58 as well. Don't know the weight.

My 594 double cut is at 7.4 pounds. Very light for a solid body mahogany. LP layout, thick neck (pattern vintage) with smaller shoulders

Well,

The S2 594 Thinline is the coolest (my bias) , but the selector switch is in a better place (ahead of the knobs)

The Core 594 Hollowbodies are cool too... But you can buy 3 of the S2's for that amount. As much as I like a Core HB II, I'm thinking I'd be better served by the S2 Thinline 594 , and an SE HB II, and still have plenty $$$ for pick up upgrades (assuming you want them... I would not )

Maybe with the leftover $$$ , a Victoria 5112 amp (a Fender Tweed Champ clone, with a 12" driver) beautiful amp ... to divulge all the cool guitar tones from the Thinline and HB II :)

Not sure if anyone has suggested this -

Just a couple of tasters.

I know our own Boscoe France absolutely rocks one of these too.

The Lightest PRS with the 'Les Paul' layout is a PRS McCarty 594 HBii - usually around 5-5.5lbs

This is mine and its just about 5.5lbs

vTZuoJh.jpg

As you can see, it has the 4 knobs (independent Tone/Volume for each pickup), even has the 3-way switch in the 'right' place and the 'best' designed ToM style bridge I have ever seen. Not only does this tick the 'boxes', you also get independent coil splitting for each pick-up giving you more tonal options than 'most' guitars like this...