Changing Floyd to Evertune

Discussion in 'Electric Instruments' started by Berten, Mar 29, 2017.

  1. Berten

    Berten New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    62
    Hi all,

    For 9 months I've been struggling with a PRS SE with Floyd which will simply not stay in tune after 2 minutes of playing. I've been interested in the Evertune bridges and I've seen on the ESP message board there are quite a few people who've had their Floyd bridge changed.

    what would you guys think? has someone already did this to an SE?
     
  2. WEDGE

    WEDGE Zombie five, DFZ

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,498
    Likes Received:
    2,551
    Floyds don't typically go out of tune, setup is usually the culprit. Take it to a tech for a checkup.
     
  3. gush

    gush She said "huge bag of dibs".

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4,848
    Likes Received:
    4,058
    I bought a torero a while back and the Floyd on it doesn't stay in tune like it should. The bass side is higher than treble side and I think the Floyd should be level in order to work correctly. That's my thought anyway.
     
  4. Michael_DK

    Michael_DK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    281
    That would make sense, I think.

    I'd love to try an evertune, but I don't like having to cut up one of my guitars to do it!
     
  5. SteelHorse

    SteelHorse New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    57
    Floyds will stay in tune. Change the springs to real German Schaller springs. I have a Torero that would not hold a perfect tune. Ordered new springs from the FloydRose website and tossed the Korean springs in the trash. Problem solved.

    I only own guitars with Floyds. None of them have issues staying in tune. They stay in tune better than other guitars to me but I know others that truly hate them so......
     
  6. gush

    gush She said "huge bag of dibs".

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4,848
    Likes Received:
    4,058
    I haven't had time to mess with mine. I have had floyds in the past and they've always performed well so I'll level the thing and put some good springs on it and see what happens.

    This guitar is going to get a passive pickup treatment.
     
  7. SteelHorse

    SteelHorse New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    57
    My Floyd Rose on the Torero is higher on the bass string side than the treble string side as I set the action low. My other guitars are the same. I set the posts for string height so that should not be an issue for returning to tune. One thing though, make sure you set it up to be level front to back by balancing the string and spring tension. One reason I stay with the same brand and gauge of strings.
     
  8. LTigh

    LTigh New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    104
    +1 for taking it to a tech. Good to have a fresh (and expert, because you HAVE vetted your tech guy, have you not?) pair of eyes, they'll probably spot something that you've missed.

    Also, springs may be a thing.
     
  9. gush

    gush She said "huge bag of dibs".

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4,848
    Likes Received:
    4,058
    That's good to know. Maybe it really needs good springs. It does need to be leveled, it's off a tiny bit.

    I don't know where all my free time goes.......it seems to take me a long time to get guitar projects done. I still have new pickups to put in my Mccarty and ce24.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice