Alternative tunings - the basics

ntto

Hopefully this is really a set of stupid questions and if it is I apologise – I’m new to all this so I have loads of questions…………….

A lot of the music I like involves alternative tunings – Tool and Karnivool are two examples.

With that in mind, what do I need to consider when I’m tuning my guitar down?

For example – do I need to change my string guage? Do I need to adjust the truss rod? Can I do it with any guitar? Does the guitar need to be 24 fretted neck or will 22 work just as well? Will I damage my guitar by changing tunings?

Any help or advice would be great

Thanks

There are bigger experts on the issue, but let me start. In general the lower you go, the heavier gauge is appropriate, the more you'll need to adjust the truss rod. I wouldn't change tunings on one guitar too often (or too much). 22 is fine :)

great - thanks for the answer! What's the reason behind not changing the tuning too often on one guitar?

is that an excuse for buying another guitar?! :)

great - thanks for the answer! What's the reason behind not changing the tuning too often on one guitar?

is that an excuse for buying another guitar?! :)

Of course, haha :D
Given that you should adjust the truss rod every time you make a major tuning alteration, it would just drive me crazy to do it very often, that's all...

I say buy more guitars!

I have one for each different tuning. I don't think switching back and forth from standard to drop D is a big deal, just a pain.

Check out Michael Hedges (even though he's WAY different than Tool and Karnivool) for some great examples of alternate tunings and what can be done. Plus look at stropes.com - that's John Stropes' site, and he's done quite a bit of transcriptions for alternate tunings. More important, especially with the Hedges stuff, he has a database of most of the tunings MH used, so if you find a tuning that you like, it's an easy way to decode it.