The low threshold to entry for guitar

Em7

deus ex machina
Guitar is one of the few musical instruments where one generally does not have to learn how to read music or learn music terminology to play. Do you believe it hurts or helps a guitarist over the long term? I personally believe that learning music and music theory is a must over the long term. While there are gifted musicians who do well with limited to no formal training in music, I have witnessed my fair share of one genre self-taught musicians over the years who struggle to play anything else. I am not the strongest music reader, but I can read music and I know music theory thanks to Guitar for the Practicing Musician and taking music theory in college. I also know why a minor chord is a minor chord and a major chord is a major chord and the ramifications that that difference has on soloing. I was shocked to discover that I was the only person in the audience at an Experience PRS master class that David Grissom gave who knew what a "no third" chord was and why it was important. We can do better than that as a community. Those of us who know music theory should help those do not and those who do not know music theory should not be hostile to those who do. Far too many guitarists who do not know music theory are stuck in the "pentatonic box," often playing the minor pentatonic over its parallel major progression. If one wants to use the minor pentatonic over a major progression, one needs to learn about a major key's relative minor key. For example, I have lost count of the number of guitarists who try to solo in G minor pentatonic over a G major chord progression. That is usually not a pretty sight. If one wants to use the minor pentatonic over a G major progression, one needs to solo in Em pentatonic because Em pentatonic and G major pentatonic have the same notes. The difference lies in the tonal centers.