Mic

Gush, you know I've been recording seriously for 32 years. During that time, I've recorded in my studio, and studios I've booked with other engineers, many of them world-class rooms here and in Europe, such as Right Track, Ocean Way, Wisseloord, Plus XXX, etc. Every engineer tries dozens of mics to get a sound with a given cab, and the good ones have their own preferred combinations.

Truth: There's no magic bullet, mic, or combination of mics, for any voice or instrument. It doesn't exist, and trying to find it is a fool's errand...I know because I've been that fool!

What there are, are choices, combinations, distances from the cab, mic angle, sound of the room, you-name-it.

Every mic has its own frequency response, diaphragm speed, polar pattern, and the results depend on choice for a particular cab or what you want to hear. In fact, the whole signal chain matters - ears/brain of engineer, sound of the room, placement in the room, mic setup, mic, mic cable, mic preamp, outboard gear like compressor and EQ, etc.

Matt says 57/Royer 121. I've used that combination often - and it's great, but only IF you're looking for that particular sound!

Much more important than the particular mic is your intention for the outcome you want, partly a matter of gear choice, and partly a matter of the instrument, the room, and putting the damn thing in the right spot.

Nonetheless, I have a few suggestions:

1. The best investment in recording you can make is a good book on the topic, and then trying out ALL the suggestions. Unless you know HOW to get what you're looking for, it's hit-or-miss, even with the 'here's what everybody does' suggestions on the web.