How Long You Been Playing?

Victor Vector

Born to Rip
It just came to me....I started playing when I was 8, got my first guitar (a cheap classical with black strings) and took lesson from Mrs. Sandborn, a little lady with short grey hair...still remember it like its yesterday. Tom Dooley...Jet plane...Guantanamera....all the classics.
Thing is im 58 now, 50 years!!! Of course theres been some breaks/down time but OMG...50 years, whered it go??? :cool:

Last edited:
I, too, started young - 7. My first guitar ever was a little nylon string from Walgreens that my mom got with S&H Green Stamps. Wrote my first song on that guitar. It was called "I Come From Cuba" t was inspired by the movie Scarface starring Al Pacino. Saw it in my early years. My friend Dennis - still a songwriting partner after 43 years - wrote the lyrics:

"I come from Cuba
I sell dee drugs
It makes me rich

I come from Cuba
I sell dee drugs
Day make me crazy"

We were like 9 years old singing this song in the park for old ladies. They'd give us pennies and we go to the local corner store and buy little penny candies and a bottle of Coke. It would usually set us back about 65 cents each, lol....

That song and little cheap-o guitar opened a life-long creative outlet for me. I have been paying 47 years now.

I traded my alto sax for a Hondo II strat copy and a cheap 5w amp with two knobs when I was 16 (going on 57 now). Played a lot until I got a job in the Chicago area (moved from Iowa) when I was 20. Have always had a guitar (or guitars) in the years since. Don't play nearly as much as I should.