Studio Artist w/ maple neck?

Denverbass79

I've just gotten smitten with PRS guitars and have been lurking here for a few weeks and this is my first post. I'm really impressed but also overwhelmed with all the options PRS has developed over the years. I'm a full time pro bassist (upright and electric about equally) and picky about gear, and sound and always notice how much I like (or don't) the sounds of the many fine guitarists I get to perform with. I've played guitar casually on the side for 10 years and use it to teach bass students (we jam!) and to write and understand harmony better.

I've become a little dissatisfied with my current solid body electric, a brand I won't mention but it shares many design similarities with a custom 24; hum buckers with a coil tap, hog body and neck, carved flame maple top, ebony board. Gibson scale length. It's done a respectable job getting me some single coil tones and is pretty clear sounding and ergonomic as well. I won't get into why it's time to move on from it, but I think it was a pretty good in betweener (strat and LP) for me as guy who only wants one guitar for any pop/rock tones I want. (I also have a nice Semi Hollow for jazz that I just got and absolutely love.)

The PRS aesthetics and ergonomics definitely speak to me, so Im trying to find my dream axe within the brand and could use help.

I picked up a PRS Signature Limited that's a few years old and has 408's in it; got it for a great price and love the charcoal burst finish and wood figuring. It's got a very nice and dark RW board as well.