SE Paul’s Guitar Issues

Jaw3000

I’ve been looking at two brand new (factory sealed) SE Paul’s Guitars to purchase at a local store, and unfortunately both seem to have issues and of course, different tonal qualities. As I’m a hobbyist that doesn’t have prior experience with PRS, I thought I’d ask here for opinions.

One guitar is noticeably heavier than the other. I’ve been doing some reading, and most people seem to think heavier/denser guitars have a brighter sound, while the lighter ones are darker and more muddled. I’m hearing the opposite with these two. The lighter one sounding brighter and louder, but with less soundstage and some tone dampening on the notes – perhaps a bit harsher. The heavier one is quieter, but has a nicer soundstage and the notes tend to sound clearer with more resonance. I’m not sure if its too much resonance, because the chorus when plugged in is slightly annoying at times. The bass notes sound much better on the heavier, while the treble sounds better on the lighter. Sustain seems better on the lighter. On the heavier, the high B and E strings are very quiet, especially on higher frets, which is limiting. I’m not able to hear hammer-ons, for example. Not sure if this is setup, dead frets, or the tonal qualities of the guitar. Yet the lighter one can sound somewhat harsh here. I’m also hearing the same things I’ve mentioned acoustically as well as plugged in, so it’s the guitar and not the pickups. Of course, much of this could be the setup, although its been checked and otherwise seems fine according to my store. I’ve also noticed some balance issues. The heavier guitar seems to be balanced without tilting, while the lighter one is very neck-heavy and unbalanced.