Rookie questions about upgrading/modding an SE CU24. Need some advice

James Breeze

Let me start this by saying I have not ever made any sort of modifications to any guitar ha. So I have no experience. But I have some extra cash and an SE Custom 24 so I think it would be interesting to learn how guitars work and all that in addition to being able to play them, plus I could probably improve my sound a bit.
So here are my super basic questions:

1) It seems everyone swaps out the SE nut for a Tusq nut. Is it worth trying out the TUSQ XL, or is there not very much difference between that and the normal Tusq?

2) I know nothing about changing pickups, but I have basic human intelligence ha. Just going off of youtube tutorials and being careful, would someone be able to change pickups without screwing things up too badly, or is it best left to a professional with electronics experience?

3) How hard would you say it is to install locking tuners? On a scale of 1 to 10, 1 being "Helen Keller could do it", 10 being "Don't even try it" and 5 being "You could probably figure it out."

Thanks in advance!

All three are do-able...
1) replacing the nut should be left to a qualified tech, unless it is pre-slotted for your guitar. The depths are crucial for each string. (consider a USA PRS nut??)
2)Not too hard...a little solder talent and you'll be ok. Pre-mark your wires so you know which goes where. On both new and old PUs, in case you need to re-install originals.
3)Easiest of all 3, if you get "direct replacement" lockers...or some drilling may be required...kinda scary if you haven't done it. Practice on scrap wood first if you try this.

The Mini Grover 406c locking tuners are "direct drop in replacements" and look very good, are compact, and don't stand out in any way. They look to the casual observer almost exactly like the stock PRS tuners.