Question about (50s?) wiring on 2013 SE Custom 24, and volume knob mod suggestions.

DanielKennethRego

Hello everyone, and this is my first post here.

I own a PRS SE Custom 24 from 2013, and after reading about 50s wiring and treble bleed mods, and that post-2007 PRS guitars are wired 50s style, I opened the control cavity to investigate and verify that my SE 24 was also wired this way. I'm a complete newbie at electronics and guitar wiring, and I couldn't quite decipher the tangle of wires in there, with any degree of confidence.

So, do post-2007 PRS SE models also have 50s wiring, or is this something restricted only to the American PRS instruments? I was interested in the 50s wiring or the treble bleed mod because I wasn't completely with the tone when rolling the volume knob down below say, 5 or so - some amount of highs seemed to drop out, and the tone also seemed to lose some amount of body. This is much worse when in coil-tap mode, where the neck pickup loses brightness and clarity very quickly.

What I'm looking for is for the volume knob to act more like a gain control without bringing in much change to the tone.

Does my PRS SE Custom 24 have 50s wiring, and what mods should I look at, to get the volume control to behave more like a gain control with little change in tone?

Last edited:
The se is wired Asian style, just like ever Asian guitar I've ever owned. The cap bleeds the treble to ground. You'll want to swap the pots for some short shaft premium cts 550s and get a good pio cap.

The se is wired Asian style, just like ever Asian guitar I've ever owned. The cap bleeds the treble to ground. You'll want to swap the pots for some short shaft premium cts 550s and get a good pio cap.

So that's the treble bleed 'mod' that's stock, right?
Are there any specific suggested values of the cap that I should swap in, to get the guitar to sound better at lower volumes?