PRS SE Torero - fret buzz

WoknRoll

Newbie here..

So I recently picked up form Craigslist an SE Torero Black Cherry ,Floyd Rose (2010) in excellent condition. The guitar looks great and feels great (not sure why I cannot attached a picture?)

Problem, the low E buzzes open and fretted. So I took it to Guitar Center to have it setup (Floyd Rose I didn't want to deal with it for now..) and restring with extra light .09-.42.

After the setup the low E was still buzzing.. fretboard is straight an arrow. He adjusted the truss rod,..stil buzzes. He tightened the truss rod to a bow and still buzzes. Adjusted the bridge and same thing. He measured the frets and they were all normal height. The only thing he did not mention was the nut. Of course this being Floyd Rose, it has 3 locking nuts. I have seen videos where super glue/baking soda mix will do the trick..and also to shim the nut.

I have googled all day and it appears SEs have a common problem with fret buzz and nut.

It is a really nice guitar... and I want to fix and keep. Just wonder how much it will cost to fix?

Any suggestions?
Thanks

Last edited:
I wouldn't say SEs have a common problem with fretbuzz and nut issues, but of the issues reported, that would be the highest percentage.

Anyway, I have no experience with a Floyd Rose, so I can't offer up any specific help. But there should be a few members here who have a Floyd-equipped PRS, and maybe you can search other forums where Floyds are installed on other brands to see if there is some other trick? Superglue and baking soda sounds rather, um, "permanent".

Also, are you sure it is the string buzzing on a fret, and not some other buzz, like a loose tuning peg or something? Sometimes one sounds like the other...

Oh, and for pictures you insert a link to the picture on a third-party site like photobucket or flickr. This forum doesn't support direct uploads (except for Mods, I think). See this thread: