PRS McCarty 594 Ground Issue(?)

Brianiac5150

My 594 seems to have developed a ground issue and - as I'm a complete electronics newb - I'm uncertain what needs done.

It's not always done this and I first started noticing a clicking sound as my hand moved along the neck when playing. Not unlike that discussed in a GENERAL DISCUSSION thread titled, "Noise touching frets." I thought it might've been the cable or 'amp' I was plugged into, however, have tried several with similar results. The buzz also lessens/goes away when touching the bridge or tailpiece.

This past weekend I took the back plates off and used an Allen key to touch a few things and see if it changed. Sure enough it did. I made a video which can be seen by searching "PRS McCarty 594 Ground Issue" on YouTube. In this video, I'm plugged directly into a Fender Blues Jr.

I'd post links to the referenced thread and video; however - also a forum newb, I've not reached my 3 post minimum. ;-)

I found the wiring diagram via the PRS site and things LOOK correct, however, I'm uncertain.

Any advice, guidance or assistance will be greatly appreciated.

The 594’s (and many other PRS models) have unshielded control cavities, which is the most likely culprit. I recently got a 594 and noticed the same thing, and have noticed it on other PRS guitars in the past, too.

More than likely, your 594 has always been this way, you’re just now noticing it. Perhaps if you changed your playing environment/location, or just if there is something new in your space or area, contributing added RF that the guitar is picking up.

When I looked into it, I found that apparently PRS doesn’t shield the cavities because it subtly rolls off the top end of the tone. Personally, I’d like a shielded cavity, but... yeah. It is what it is.