Newbie homestudio mic question

Ovibos

Naughty Wood Librarian
I know there are some very experienced recording pros hanging out here, so I wanted to pick your brains.

What's a good, inexpensive (<$100?) mic for vocals?

Just for simple messing around homestudio use. Not having recorded much for a decade or so, I woulda just picked up an SM58 - but the interwebs seems to say a large condenser is the way to go.

I'll be running into a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2.

Or the Sennheiser e835 :). But I'm not a recording pro, so I retract my answer. Pardon me, I was just thinking out loud. :cool:

Oh by no means did I mean 'pros only'!

I'm sure many folks here make fine recordings and pay bills in other ways.

Just looking for a way to throw some nice-ish vocals on top of me noodling on my SEs over some Beta Monkey loops.

Shure SM57/58 is by far the go-to mic for anything less than several hundred dollars. (The only difference, if I understand correctly, is the capsule -- take it off, and they're the same mic.)

Last edited:
You'll no doubt get lots of replies on this. Note that mics can be somewhat subjective like pup suggestions. That being said, Studio Projects have decent budget mics for various purposes.
http://www.studioprojects.com/

It's a start. Have seen these recommended by studio pros for entry level mics. I own one and it has serviced well.

U2's Bono cuts all his vocals with an SM58, if you need a good example of how an SM58 can sound on recorded vocals.

For under a hundred bucks that's what I'd use.

I'm not big on cheap large diaphragm condensers, but by all means try one if that's your thing.

I've liked a lot of stuff I've heard from Studio Projects too, but the ones I can remember were more than $100. Some might fit the budget though.