MT100 pairing question

jcapellman

I'm new to PRS (I've been an ESP and Line6 guy for about 25 years). I'm about to purchase the MT100, but I noticed Tremonti's cab is only a 1x12, and the "Stealth 4x12" seems to have been discontinued.

Are there any rumors of a 2x or 4x Tremonti cab? Or would pairing a Mesa 4x12 Rectifier with the MT100 be a solid option? I mainly play Metallica and Creed covers, with my songs being a cross between the two in smaller venues (big enough to warrant a larger than 1x12).

Thanks!

I think you'd be fine running through the Mesa cab. I'd certainly give it a go before grabbing a new cab.

I usually run my Archon through a PRS 2x12 Stealth Big Mouth (discontinued, of course), but I've also run it through an Orange 4x12. Sounds great either way, although the PRS cab seems a tad brighter.

The Mesa 4X12 Cabs Are Nice. Mark Has Used Those Two Cabs Since The Very Early Days And They Are Obviously Well Played And Broken In. They Do Sound A Bit Different Than The New Ones You Get Today. Your Modern Made Recto Cabs Can Be A Bit Boomy In Certain Situations. The New Mesa Traditional 4X12 Is Less So. Both Nice Cabs, Both Would Work Well. In Fact, Any Quality 4X12 Cab Loaded With The Speakers You Like Will Work For The Most Part.

I Gather You Are More Interested In Rear Loaded Cabs Rather Than Front Loaded? Is This Correct?

Here Are Some 4X12 Cabs That I Have That I Really Like For Your Situation.

Original Bogner Ubercab (Rear Loaded) V30 & T75
Fryette Deliverance Cab (Rear Loaded) Fanes
Friedman (Rear Loaded) v30 & Greenback

If You Are Interested In Front Loaded Cabs Let Me Know And I Would Be Happy to Give You Some Options/Feedback On The Ones I Have And Enjoy using For Those Sounds.