McCarty vs Paul's vs Santana vs...

madeinbologna

I'm looking for my first PRS. I've got a partscaster and 3 bass guitars, but I've really been drawn to guitar this past year. I'm still learning. I want to learn blues along the lines of Peter Green, Joe Bonamassa, John Mayer, Buddy Guy, David Gilmour, Jimi Hendrix, Robben Ford to name a few. I loved the tone I heard on Robben's demo of his signature through the HDRX20! But that's too much of a stretch this year.

$3,500 budget. Used. Paul's Guitar? McCarty (594?)? Straight CU24?

Last edited:
For those styles, I'd go for a 594 personally. They really capture the old Les Paul vibe with the added versatility of great sounding coil taps.

If you can manage a used Paul's with the TCI pickups, it would hit the Stratty sounds better. It's a more modern-sounding of guitar, but super versatile.

I wouldn't go for a CU24 for these styles. I did use one myself back in the day to play stuff like Gov't Mule, Allman Bros, and all sorts of classic rock, but I think the two guitars above or a regular McCarty or a DGT are better tools for that job.

I'd go regular McCarty if you want the simpler operation and they have a little more snap to the tone vs. the 594. Or the DGT is a great pick if you want to have those more classic tones with a trem.

I have two CU24's and a 594 HBII. Of those three, the HBII gets 95% of my guitar time for a few reasons.

1. I like the tones better for what I am doing right now (Dylan, Willie Nelson, Petty, Bo Diddley, jazz plus originals)
2. The lightweight (5.6 lbs I believe compared to 7.x for my CU24's) allows me to wear it for many hours without any fatigue or issues next day
3. Unplugged, it sounds great

Your mileage may vary, and if I were playing more rockin' or funk stuff, the CU24's would be a better fit, and I will be doing some of that down the road, but for now, the HBII wins for me and it sounds like it would be a great fit for you!!