Les' Wildly Speculative Guitar Thought Of The Day

László

Too Many Notes
So here's the thing: in recent years, experience with various guitar finishes has convinced me that they contribute subtly to the sound of the instrument. I once felt differently about this, but I've changed my mind as experience keeps teaching me new things.

One of the things that convinced me of this is that I was a longtime Gibson player, and still have a '65 SG Special, a guitar whose tone I've got 50 years of experience listening to.

The SG sounded different from my PRS guitars for a ton of reasons, but there was always a sonic signature/overtone I heard on Gibsons no matter which model I played. I didn't hear this overtone on a PRS until one day I played a DGT that was finished in nitro (early DGTs were nitro).

Damned if that DGT didn't have that familiar overtone, even strummed acoustically. It made me start thinking I still had a lot to learn about the effect of finishes on instruments, and that I was wrong to be so quick to rush to judgment on the question of nitro finishes affecting tone.

More recent experience with both a V12 SC58 and my nitro Hammer of the Gods McCarty Singlecut reinforced my feeling about this. The nitro finished CU24 30th I have has even more so (I should point out that I like the tone of V12 instruments a lot, too!).

There's a lot of guesswork as to why this difference exists in various circles of guitardom, but a recent short article in Guitarist about nitro finishes speculates that they somehow let the instrument "breathe." This strikes me as nonsense, though we've all heard it many times.