A Little Tube Rolling Over The Weekend, And My DG30 Is Even Sweeter!

László

Too Many Notes
Even though I've been playing (and messing around with) tube amps since 1966, I still have to work myself up to unscrewing the amp's back cover, and pulling out tubes. I've never broken a tube or even bent a pin in all that time, but I still have it in my mind that I'm going to pull a tube, make a mistake, and break the world!

This despite the fact that it's as easy as changing a light bulb.

When last we visited the innards of the DG30, I had replaced a bad V3 with a spare NOS BRIMAR CV4004 box plate, and swapped out the V1 for another NOS Brimar 12AX7 that was a little lower gain thinking I'd make the amp a bit cleaner. There was also an NOS BRIMAR CV4004 (these are also 12 AX7s with military labels) in the V4 phase inverter position.

Saturday I decided that I wanted to return some of the original gain structure to the amp, without making it over the top. First I swapped in a different BRIMAR for the V1. It restored the gain, but it was a bad one, it hummed. Well, it's a 50 year old tube, what did I expect? Some go bad I guess.

Fortunately I had a spare JJECC83s, so I put that in the phase inverter position (V4) and put the BRIMAR that was in the V4 into the V1.

This put the amp into the configuration this model shipped from the factory, the only difference being that I had some NOS BRIMARs from my own stash in the amp. In any case, I lucked out with the right tubes in the right spots, because the amp is running dead quiet, the gain structure gets that "edge of breakup" clean tone a little more easily, and the amp sounds even more like the amp Grissom recorded on How It Feels To Fly.

For some reason these little tweaks - finding just the right individual tube for each position - have given me an amp that can truly give my beloved HXDA a real run for the money as a #1 amp.