Which PRS guitars have the partial split coil feature?

Markcarl

I am new to PRS guitars. I recently got an SE DGT and 2 core DGTs. I’m digging the split coil like sounds I can get with these guitars. I understand the DGTs have partial split coils. Is this common to PRS guitars or just specific to certain models? My son has a custom 24 from around 2010. Would this have partially split coils too?

^ What he said.

And you're "new to PRS guitars" and already have an SE and 2 cores? Yeah, you'll fit in here just fine. It took me like 16 months to get to 3 PRSi!!;)

Welcome, and...

pics.gif

Thanks for the responses!

Here is a pic of the 3 amigos:

DGTs by Mark Carleton, on Flickr
@Markcarl ….Just very curious. …… I’m considering another DGT…:oops:
Do your 2 core DGT’s sound the same, different, or very different from each other ?
And how does the SE version sound and play compared to your 2 core versions?

@Markcarl ….Just very curious. …… I’m considering another DGT…:oops:
Do your 2 core DGT’s sound the same, different, or very different from each other ?
And how does the SE version sound and play compared to your 2 core versions?

Each of the guitars sounds different. They’re all similar though. I bought the SE first and was blown away by it! That made me want to try the core model. I liked that so much that I got another.

The sound and playability of the SE is very similar to the 2 core models I have. I think the SE sounds a little brighter than my core models but it’s a subtle difference. It definitely holds its own. From what I can tell the SE tremolo works just as good as the core models.

I’ve heard people say if PRS makes the SEs so good maybe people will stop buying the cores? I kind of doubt that will happen. In my case, the opposite happened. The SE was so good it sparked my interest in the DGT and I ended up buying 2 cores. I don’t regret my purchase of these three guitars and have no plans to sell any of them. They’re all keepers!