PRS Equivalent to a Fender American Ultra Telecaster?

Guithartic

I've been jonesing for a PRS guitar for a few years now. I have two Telecasters, a Vintage Hot Rod '52 and an American Ultra in Texas Tea. I figured I only need one Tele, and I'd try to sell the American Ultra and use the money to buy a PRS. Or just do a trade. My ideal PRS would have a rosewood or ebony fingerboard with bird inlays (pearloid or abalone), gloss black, with some chrome hardware. Are there some good recommendations for a PRS that would be comparable in value or quality to the Fender American Ultra?
Edit: See Post #13 below.

Last edited:
This is probably the closest.

You may like this one also.

The NF 53 or Myles Kennedy would be in the wheelhouse of a Tele looks wise, but what I've heard of them tone wise, they're definitely their own thing. Teles have a very specific sound that really require a set of Tele pickups to create. Basically, if you want Tele tone, you're probably going to have to buy a Tele...which will probably entail play testing a few to find the "right" one for you.

I think the OP is not looking for a tele, since he already got one? Hence my suggestion for the thinline
I had the same thought. OP are you looking for a T style single coil guitar or are you looking at something different?

I think the OP is not looking for a tele, since he already got one? Hence my suggestion for the thinline
This. OP states he's looking for something besides a tele but wants to know how the quality of PRS stacks to an Ultra.

We would need to know more about what you are looking for in a guitar besides black, chrome, and birds. Like Trem? Pickup style? Music? Neck preference? Budget? New? used? Etc. Any of the US made PRS is as good as a Fender Ultra. Really any of them.

If your looking for suggestions for pure PRS DNA. I'd get a core and If there's only one I'd get a Custom 24. That's PRS that started all.

But really would need to know more first for a good recommendation.