NGD: PRS 30th. Anniv. Custom 24, maple board

GibsonLives

(As promised in another thread, here's a NGD review of my new PRS, which was first posted under the username GibsonLives in The Gear Page.)

So, last weekend, I pulled the trigger on this...

...my very first PRS!

I've been playing for over 30 years, and tried a handful of PRSi over the decades, but I was more into the usual suspects like Fender and Gibson.

One thing that was always a turn-off for me was that most all PRS guitars have rosewood boards, and I'm just not a huge fan. Enter this beauty, and a long-overdue awakening.

Got it yesterday. Fit and finish were outstanding. The top looks a bit darker in person, more true to the name "Honey" they give the finish. The case is without a doubt the most luxurious case I've ever gotten with a guitar, and I'm used to quality along the lines of the G&G cases they give with instruments from the Fender Custom Shop, which are sweet cases in their own right. Still, this one is a step or two above.

This is not rated as a 10 Top, though you sure could have fooled me. Most of the 10 tops I've seen don't look much better (though some of that Wood Library stuff PRS puts out is in another league by far). Anyway, great top in this one, and I saved several hundred bucks off the 10.

The feel of the Pattern Regular neck is comfortable, albeit with a matte finish which is a bit less glossy than most Fender, and much less so than typical Gibson. It's also a bit thicker and rounder than Fender's modern C, but not overly much. Tuning and intonation is dead-on right out of the box.