New player, newbie question: how do I deal with RF hum/buzz?

Dan Perez Sax

Hey, I've been playing for about 3 months and just got my second guitar, an S2 Thinline. I LOVE the way it feels to play and I can play faster and cleaner than I could on my SE custom 24. But... this guitar picks up a lot more RF interference from the electronics in my room than the SE did. Why is that? What can I do about it? My friend's response was, "Get a guitar that doesn't buzz," but... I really like this guitar, dammit lol.

I can get less buzzy sounds by turning the gain down on my amp or turning down the volume pots on the guitar and turning the amp output volume up, but as soon as I try to get a little crunch, there's an ever-present hum that's driving me nuts. An interesting thing I've noticed is that when I pull out the coil tap, it doesn't add or change the buzzing sound AT ALL, unlike the SE guitar where some buzz would start when the tone knob was pulled out.

Things I've tried: different cables, eliminating pedals, keeping everything on one circuit, going direct into Apollo. Same results every time. The only thing that changes (not reduces to manageable levels, but reduces somewhat) the hum is facing a different direction. If I turn down the treble, it's fine, but I've been told that practicing with the treble up helps you practice a more consistent, lighter touch cuz you can hear slight differences in the picking better, so I want to do that.

Sounds like a wiring issue , stuck coil tapping , short look near the tone pot for wires touching together or a wire shorting a lug.
Contact PTC send them good pictures they will get you sorted

Siiiiiiiiiick, thanks. Was hoping it's something that's just plain wrong like that, aka fixable. As opposed to something that's by design somehow or something I just have to get used to.

The bridge tone control does sound a bit dirty which I thought was weird for a 2020 model PRS.