2013 PRS Custom 24 Flamed Maple Color and Pickup Help

Which PU is better overall and which color is the most beautiful?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

petrucciXsfogli

Hello there PRS Community,

I'm new to PRS and to the forum, so welcome to me. :) I, soon, will be a proud owner of a 2013 PRS Custom 24 Flamed (Non 10 Top) - ordered new from an authorized USA PRS dealer, but I still have some decisions to make asap: I'm not sure what Color and which Pickups:

Color/Finish (My Top 2):
1. Orange Tiger vs. Jade
2. Could you also recommend what you think are some of the best colors offered on C24 non 10 Top seen first hand and not in pictures? I also kinda like Faded Blue Burst, Autumn Sky, & Faded Abalone.

Basically, I've never seen an actual C24 flamed maple color/finish in person; only from pictures on the internet/YouTube and they don't do them justice visually is what they say.

PUs/Tone:

1. 57/08 vs. HFS/VB

And more importantly the pickups and tone: Which PU is better: 57/08 or HFS/VB (offered in 2013) tone wise overall? I tend to be a high gain player (not sure if that's good or bad :)) and I know the HFS has higher output (basically a 57/08 with more wounding), but I want to make sure that the tone is great, there's separation in the string notes, not muddy, and it's versatile.

My playing/genre and tone preferences are:

Rock/Shred, Progressive Metal and Blues Rock: M. Sfogli, M. Friedman, G. Govan, J. Petrucci, J. Bonamassa, M. Tremonti, J. Derrico (to name a few)

Let me explain: I'm from the Philippines and I've never tried/seen a US PRS Custom 24 before, and no chance of seeing & testing them here in my area due to availability issues. I'm just a huge PRS fan, fell in love with it, and went for it since it's been one of my dream guitars for the longest time.

This is my first PRS (and first ever decent guitar for that matter, and I worked so hard saving for this), so I would like everything to be perfect. :)

Thanks for your time and help.