Got the cart before the horse, but...

ScottM65

After posting a short video link I realize I should have introduced myself. Sorry for getting it backwards.

I'm a reformed college professor, lifelong student of guitar, Pedal Steel enthusiast. Grew up on a farm (about 3000 acres) with a Pedal steel playing dad. He was really good, too. Didn't Know there was any other kind of music besides country until I was 10 years old. Somehow I discovered Jazz through Steely Dan and progressive rock.

...and here I am.

First concert - Conway Twitty in about 1972.

Best,

Scott

Last edited:
Steel is, in fact, a unique and wonderful instrument. Having grown up with that sound engrained in me, I have a very Western swing/traditional country ideal of how it’s supposed to sound. After avoiding playing one for 55 years, it took my dad’s passing about 19 months ago to inspire me to learn. Now I have a million questions I would give anything to ask him. I have so many things I heard him play flying around in my head, it’s SO cool when I happen to stumble onto one of them. Even though I have spent a great deal of my life trying to be a jazz guitarist, right now I’m happy to be addicted to Buck Owens.

I don’t understand how a couple of my very “beginner” level videos on YouTube have around 1000 views. There are so many wrong notes, out of tune notes and chords, and moments where it’s obvious I don’t know what I’m doing. Maybe people are viewing for the laughs. :)

Last edited:
Steel is, in fact, a unique and wonderful instrument.
I used to not think so, but Robert Randolph is the Jimi Hendrix of pedal steel guitar and I saw him on TV and he made that thing SCREAM! Suddenly, it was cool to me after seeing him just rip that thing to shreds on some live concert on either Austin City Limits or PBS. Dude is a bad a$$!!!!!!