Are PRS branded pickup rings the only ones that will fit an SE?

awake69

Hi all!

I'm a newbie to this forum and figured this would be the best place to get the info I need.

I recently got an insane deal on a PRS SE Custom 24 Floyd. It's a Guitar Center exclusive (I think) as it has a quilted black top with white binding on the body, neck and headstock.

I already swapped out the black knobs with the clear/black lampshade knobs from PRS. I'd like to swap the black pickup rings for white/ivory. I've found some PRS branded rings on the Bay and Reverb, but they seem rather pricey (from $27 and up) for plastic pickup rings. I tried a set from Allparts, but the bridge ring was WAY too high.

Can anyone recommend a lesser expensive set of pickup rings that will fit nicely? Preferably non-slanted if at all possible.

I love this guitar and I just think the lighter rings would make this finish "pop".

Last edited:
Just eyeballing mine: it looks like most flat rings would fit. But I think you'd need to get two pairs and use neck rings in both positions. A second set from Allparts shouldn't be that expensive.

I have allparts black ones on my Singlecut. There are different heights for trem vs non trem. Maybe you got wrong type?

My 2019 SE Custom 22 Semi-Hollow came with cream colored pickup rings, matching Gibson/USA standard humbucker size for screw hole spacing, NOT Metric/Asian. I don't know if ALL PRS SE guitars are so-equipped.

I replaced the rings with Gibson-size black rings and put standard USA chrome covers over the confused zebra-coil pickups. To my taste, looks much better now.

48844185143_8e0886a3ee_o.jpg

This is interesting, because my SE HB II (made in China) pup rings are bigger than USA Gibson rings: bigger overall, and bigger screw spacing. I didn't compare yet to typical import PUP rings but my hunch is they'll match.