Used SE Cu24 w/ Upgrades; pups sound like blanket over them

M3TAl

Just got a used SE Cu24 with Mojotone DW Tomahawk Gen 2 (same pups that comes in the DW CE 24 “Floyd”) and they sound very meh. I have no experience with these pups so have no frame of reference for them.

In this guitar they sound very dark, wooly?, or like there's a blanket over the sound. Also they're supposed to be really hot pups but two of my other guitars in the same tuning with a Duncan JB and Kiesel Lithium both seem hotter.

Wondering if there's an issue with the install or electronics? And yes I've adjusted the pup heights which seem to honestly on this guitar not make much of a difference. Guess two more posts are needed before I can link pics of the control cavity but to my untrained eye it looks relatively normal. Seems to be the stock Alpha vol pot and push/pull tone.

I put a set of Tomahawks in my SE 30th CU24 Floyd and they sound amazing! Definitely not a blanket over them and they are change quite a bit depending on pickup height. I also ripped out the SE electronics and replaced them all with core pots, blade, and jack. I actually pulled the entire kit from a DW CE that went fishmans.

Before that I had JB/Jazz in there with SE electronics. Sounded really good, way better than the stock pickups (HFS/VBs), but once I did the electronics swap and Mojotones it went quite a bit further up the ladder. Honestly as far as this guitar can go, perfection.

Good to hear your experience. I did kind of buy this SE to possibly do upgrades on it (nut, tremolo, possibly wiring) but something must be wrong with it considering how bad it sounds.

My fear is reaming holes and upgrading the electronics for it to turn out still sounding the way it does now. That would be no bueno.