Silver Sky defect? :(

greenlemon

Hi everyone !

I have been a big fan of John Mayer and it was a dream for myself to get a hold on the Silver Sky.

I managed to save enough to purchase a Silver Sky. However, I was disappointed to find out that my Silver Sky had some defect. The rosewood fretboard near the end of the headstock appears to be irregular and not clean. It does not affect any playability but it is cosmetically not appealing.

I haven't noticed similar experience with other S-style guitar brands. It is a shame as this is my first time using a PRS guitar.

https://ibb.co/vHyrnWr (photo of the SS)

vHyrnWr

vHyrnWr

vHyrnWr

I have contacted the PRS customer service but they weren't able to do anything :(

Last edited:
If you have a problem with a guitar, you deal with the place where you bought it. Why did you not contact the dealer?

What do you mean when you say that PRS customer service wasn’t able to do anything? That sounds very odd

If you have a problem with a guitar, you deal with the place where you bought it. Why did you not contact the dealer?

What do you mean when you say that PRS customer service wasn’t able to do anything? That sounds very odd

I contacted the dealer but the response I received was: "Unfortunately we don't see a fault at all in the picture provided."

I have contracted the PRS customer service after contacting the dealer

I contacted the PRS customer service, and this was their reply: "Thank you for contacting PRS Guitars. I’ve reviewed this photo with some of our QC managers and concluded that this would be within spec for the tolerances allowed on the Silver Sky models. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause."

I do not see a “fault” either. Rosewood can be porous, and the edge of the fretboard just shows this. If you are not happy with the guitar, you should be able to return it. If the dealer won’t accept returns, I would not deal with them again.