New to single coil. Is the silver sky's factory setting's pickup height too high?

waltuh

Got this from PRS' website:
Treble Pickup
2/32" [1.6 mm] on the treble side.
4/32" [3.2 mm] on the bass side.

Middle Pickup
3.5/32" [2.8 mm] on the treble side.

Bass Pickup
2.5/32" [2 mm] on the treble side.

Not that i want to copy the exact specs, i just want to find a middle ground for single coil to dial my amp and pedals to based on the guitar, not the other way around. Since i'm new to single coil, i don't know my "middle ground" guitar sound unlike what i do with humbuckers.

Can anyone help me with a pickup height setting? Particularly on a silver sky SE.

My .02 cents, i always start with new strings even if the guitar is new. Amp should be clean settings. Ruler what’s that! I use my ears and just like humbuckers I start by adjusting the pickups so that there is balance between all three when using the switch. Same output, then if you want to fine tune you can add/subtract bass or treble by just adjusting one side like the slant thing. Finally output would most likely be based on how close the pickups are to the strings. This one probably changes the sound/ output the most of all the adjustments. Play with the adjustments as in the end if you don’t like what you’ve done can always set it up to factory specs. I’ve never and do not own a guitar setup to factory specs, though I’m sure they’re a good starting point. Oh and lastly you’ll learn a lot by messing with setup. Bonus .03 cents on your humbucker guitar setups after all your adjustments are done again clean amp settings adjust the pole pieces for string balance sitting there one string at a time listening for volume and balance across a picked chord. Sorry to ramble and good luck.

Been playing Strats since the 1960's and for me the STARTING POINT is all about the distance from the underside of the strings to the polepieces of the pickups when the strings are held down at the the highest fret.