Hollowbody vs Semi-Hollow

treillw

What are the tonal differences between a hollowbody and semi-hollowbody? Which do you feel is more versatile?

I'm trying to figure out what to get for my next guitar purchase and currently comparing the C24 semi-hollow and the Hollowbody II. I have played both and they both sound good to me, but I'm not really an expert on their differences and played the HB a long time ago. I'm pretty set on the piezo, so I guess that pretty much limits me to the HB II or private stock. It would be nice to have a trem too - the PS P24 trem semi-hollow seems awesome, but I don't think that's in the budget. I'm hoping that they will come out with a similar special model for the 30th anniversary.

Thanks!

Last edited:
I own 2 McCarty HB's, one with piezo, one without, as well as a ZM semi-hollow. I definitely did the shootout on them and maybe it's just me but I think the full HB just breathes a much more fuller life then the semi. The semi I will say has some great tonalities when clean, but distorted I'm just not hearing anything that stands out like the full HB.

The semi-hollow is a bit more resonant than the solid body; the full hollowbody is considerably more resonant.

Whether "a bit more resonant" is preferable to "considerably more resonant" is up to you.

The HB can do clean better than any PRS in my opinion and it delivers distortion sounds better than any hollow I know of.

Both are great. The HBs breath more. There's an openness that you start to get with the Semis, but it shines through in the HBs. Also, since you want the piezo, it's the only game in town without going private stock. Of course, if private stock IS an option, go with a SC HB II with piezoelectric trem and 408s! :wave: