Dilemma

Grimr

Greetings and Salutations! I am a new member here but have loved PRS guitars for quite some time. I own a couple of SE's and a stripped 58. However since I started playing in the late 80's I've always wanted a Custom 24. Well that day has finally arrived but now I'm starting to get overwhelmed with options. The main issue is that there really isn't anywhere local for me to try them out before I buy so unfortunately I'm going to have to get one from an Internet vendor.

So, my dilemma is do I go with the 30th Anniversary Custom 24 or a standard Custom 24 maybe with a 10 top. I've never heard either the 85/15 pickups or the 59/09's. I am only familiar with the 57/08's that are on my stripped 58 and I really love those pickups. Is there anyone here who maybe has both and can comment or anyone who at least have checked both out? I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOiDwXo-SuM here is a 30th. Basically the extra money is buying you private stock pickups since this is the only standard model that will have them. There are several videos on youtube with the 59/09. I just bought mine over the weekend(just shipped today). I bought a 2014 model and figured the lower cost I could buy whatever boutique pickups I wanted if the 59/09's ultimately did not suite me, or you could go to a 10 top as you said. The inlay on the fingerboard and headstock of the 30th is pretty darn sexy though.