Custom 24 SE 35th Ann - Action and Pickup heights

ItsGameOvrMan

I started playing guitar 2 years ago on an acoustic. Since I was still into it and I wanted to give electric a chance, I did lots of research and decided to purchase a Custom 24 SE 35th Anniversary edition guitar in early Nov. It was brand new and just released as I had to wait a couple weeks for Sweetwater to get them. This is the first electric guitar I've played and purchased. So I have been in learning mode for the last couple months on playing an electric guitar compared to acoustic.

The question I have for this model guitar have to deal with the action and pickup heights. I felt like the action was way too high. Looking at the neck pickup vs bridge pickup they are at vastly different heights. In fact they are 2mm in difference. My action was really high and sitting at @ 4.5/32 on low E 12th fret. This is 2/32 over PRS recommended factory setting.

I checked the neck relief and that seems ok.

So my plan was to lower the action to PRS recommended of 2.5/32 on low E; however, when I try to do that the string is literally touching the bridge pickup or barely off it. So all I get is string buzz.

At this point I'm at a loss for what I need to do. Is this normal on an electric that the pickups are different heights? What do I need to look at? Ideas?

Picture is before I tried to lower action.

It's normal for a neck pickup to be significantly lower than the bridge pickup.

Use the center screws of each pickup to drop them down low while you adjust the action.

Assuming that your trem is level, set your 12th fret action to taste and then adjust pickups to spec.

It's normal for a neck pickup to be significantly lower than the bridge pickup.

Use the center screws of each pickup to drop them down low while you adjust the action.

Assuming that your trem is level, set your 12th fret action to taste and then adjust pickups to spec.

I think might be a bit confused on this...