You Can't Always Get What You Want

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by James G, Feb 7, 2021.

1. James G

James G New Member

Or perhaps you can?

Complete newbie here and I'd be grateful for your help.

I am finally getting round to learning the guitar in my early 40s because time's a wasting. After a lot of research, trying out various brands and with the main criteria that my petite wife wants to learn too and would have to be able to handle it, my dream piece is a Core Custom 24, 10 top, in faded whale blue with a pattern thin neck. After working for years, price is not an issue and I'm keen to order it.

I live in the Middle East. There is one authorized distributor and I was fairly stunned when they told me recently that they "can't" order this precise model and anything remotely in the same ball park (different colour, standard wood grade) will take 7 months to get.

Before I make a fool of myself and send a flaming email or five, does this sound right to you? How does authorized dealership work where a customer wants a particular model? Can they really not request it?

Does this mean that I need to start scanning dealerships in other parts of the world and look to get it shipped over? Good lord, I hope not.

There's probably something that I just don't get about this, so I'm grateful for your help please.

2. Alnus Rubra

Alnus Rubra Loving nature’s wonders

Try Andertons, Peach Guitars or Thomann

dogrocketp and aphantomvaper like this.
  3. James G

James G New Member

Thank you. Have emailed Andertons and Peach some questions. Thomann website is impenetrable!

Alnus Rubra likes this.
  4. bodia

bodia Authorities said.....best leave it.....unsolved

Sounds about right, to me. Dealers place an order and the the guitars get built. Seven months would be quick, thanks to COVID, and a pre COVID back log of orders thanks to a great 2020 slew of new models. You’re better off looking on line for a guitar you like, and then working with that dealer.